New contest: Win two double tickets for Unknown Festival 2014 Enter now! Hide tip


Sónar: Sónar São Paulo first artists + new additions Sónar Reykjavík


Sónar São Paulo returns to the city on the days of 24th and 25th May 2013 with a new audio visual show from the Pet Shop Boys and a concert by The Roots amongst the first artists confirmed. The announcement of the participating artists has only just begun, for the moment we are left guessing that something amazing is going to happen.

Amongst the names confirmed for the moment are the British duo Pet Shop Boys, hip hop group The Roots, the German DJ and producer Paul Kalkbrenner, the group Explosions in The SkyMatmos, soul man Jamie Lidell, and techno wizard Theo Parrish.

Soon there will be more names added to the Sónar São Paulo line-up. The tickets for the 2013 edition will go on sale as of the 20th of February 2013 at 12noon (Brazilian time). All the information on Sónar São Paulo will be published on the Fan Page and diffused by Twitter @sonarsp.

NEW VIDEO Sónar Barcelona Image 2013

The festival is travelling to Iceland for the first time for Sonar Reykjavik, which will take place on 15 and 16 February at Harpa, the city’s brand new concert and conference centre, located by the sea, near the port. For its first Nordic trip, Sonarwill be adopting a small-scale and intimate format. The event begins at 6pm and continues until 3am on each day.
The line-up will include around 15 international artists and 30 from Iceland, who will be playing on 4 stages with capacities ranging between 200 and 1,600 spectators each.The building that will host the first Sonar Reykjavik is the home of the Iceland Symphony Orchestra and The Icelandic Opera, and was designed by Henning Larsen Architects in collaboration with the renowned artist Olafur Eliasson.

Added to the already confirmed artists of James Blake (UK), Squarepusher (UK), Modeselektor (DE), Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto (DE/JP), Simian Mobile Disco (UK), Diamond Version (DE), GusGus (IS), Retro Stefson (IS), Ólafur Arnalds (IS) and Gluteus Maximus (IS) are the following:

  • Ásgeir Trausti (IS)
  • Mugison (IS)
  • Tale of Us (IT)
  • Kasper Björke (DK)
  • Thugfucker (US-IS)
  • Ghostigital (IS)
  • Samaris (IS)
  • Pedro Pilatus (IS)
  • Valgeir Sigurdsson (IS)
  • Paul Corley (US)
  • Captain Fufanu (IS)
  • Kippi Kaninus (IS)
  • Sísý Ey (IS)

Sónar Reykjavik