New contest: Win two double tickets for Unknown Festival 2014 Enter now! Hide tip


Ralph Lawson presents with Carl Finlow Dusty Dubs & Gold Dust in 2020 Vision Recordings

2020Vision mark their 250th release with a very fitting project from the originator of the label Ralph Lawson. Lawson presents a selection of classic mixes and unreleased gems produced alongside his original production estpartner Carl Finlow.

Lawson started working again with Carl Finlow last year and their creative spark re-ignited immediately. There is nothing like re-finding a long lost friend especially when they have been responsible for so many great musical moments together. Their recent work for the Maya Jane Coles produced project LB testifies their superb skills are as honed as ever.

Dusty Dubs and Gold Dust will be released next Tuesday, May 20th. Many tracks were made 10 years ago but listening to them today will be the first time you, will have heard many of them. They will also be new for a whole new generation of DJs and music lovers. Also included are bona fide classics that fully deserve to be presented to the next generation of clubbers. In a time when many up and coming producers are trying to replicate early electronic house music Lawson & Finlow restate their claim as originators and pioneers of the sound. We hear now one of the remixes that appear on the album, the track Come On of DJ Dove.

A special release on 2020Vision, one of the most established and respected outlets for house music in the UK. Chez Damier, Stacey Pullen, Greg Wilson, Maya Jane Coles, Audiojack, Paul Woolford, Motor City Drum Ensemble, Simon Baker, Crazy P, Fred Everything and 2020Soundsystem are just a selection of the esteemed producers who all released music on 2020 very early in their careers. The Leeds label continues to be an outpost for quality electronic music, keeping its integrity and flying the flag for independent record labels.

And the charge of this very special album could not be other than Ralph Lawson, the creator of 2020Vision with over 20 years worth of records in his bag. Although well known as a DJ, with his long running back to basics residency, Fabric33 mix and We Love Space residency, he has remained undercover as a producer. He has been working on the live project 2020Soundsystem but this year sees him break out to produce under his own name and reform his original 2020 production partnership with Carl Finlow aka Random Factor, and the first result is this album.


  1. Freak Seven – We Bring The Music (Dusty Dub)
  2. Blaze – Lovelee Dae (2020Vision Remix)
  3. Prophets of Sound – Tide Of Dreams (Gold Dust mix)
  4. DJ Dove – Come On (2020Vision Remix)
  5. Soldiers Of Twilight – Believe (Gold Dust Mix)
  6. Blaze – Wishing You Were Here (2020Vision Remix)
  7.  Wolf n Flow – I’m Feeling Moody (Dusty Dub)
  8. The House Crusaders – May The Force Be With You (Gold Dust mix)
  9. Shawn Christopher – Make My Love (Dusty Dub)
  10. Secret Knowledge – Escape From New York (Gold Dust edit)
  11. Arthur Baker – Different Styles (2020Vision Remix)
  12. Cravo e Canela – Time (2020Vision Remix)