New contest: Win two double tickets for Unknown Festival 2014 Enter now! Hide tip

Focus on

Metroline Limited

We opened our 2013 Focus On with Metroline Limited, a British label with Italian roots that’s been thriving since 2007. The label’s operations are run between London and Rome. Metroline mainly releases underground club music, techy and jacking house, and techno. Their first release in 2007, Audio Dependent Digital EP, caused a stir in the dance music world straight away and was supported by DJ’s such as Andrew Weatherall and M.A.N.D.Y. amongst others.

The first string of Metroline releases focused on the dark and minimal side of techno, and saw talented producers like Mike Wall, Diego Capri & Andrea Gentile with remixers such as Agaric and Skoozbot getting onboard. Later Metroline started exploring the housier side of club music and discovered the talents of Rio Padice, Solead, and Doubtingthomas.

2010 was a big year for Metroline. Between August and October the release of Clio’s For Sure Baby, Solead’s Wander E, and Elon’s Clap Back, helped the label obtain another level of respect within club culture.

2011 and 2012 have been steady years full of strong releases by Maurizio Vitiello, Snilloc, Martin Eyerer and Clio. All helping the label stay strong in to its audience, and at the same time label owners Phiorio and Octad have launched Metroline’s techno sublabel: Retrometro.

Now people were talking about the label, top DJ’s were playing Metroline tracks and the records kept being featured in the vinyl and digital charts. This year 2013 is set to be a busy year for both labels with already some super hot releases lined up from Elon, Arnaud Le Texier, Octad, Phiorio, Martin Eyerer & Tim Xavier and many more!

In this Focus On we enjoy four of Metroline’s artists:

  • Octad
  • Phiorio
  • Snilloc
  • Maurizio Vitiello