New contest: Win two double tickets for Unknown Festival 2014 Enter now! Hide tip


Fifth album of German producer and deejay Steve Bug: Noir

Steve Bug, one of the world’s most renowned artists in the electronic music circuit, presents his fifth and most mature longplayer. Noir doesn’t deny its roots, but expands the usual spectrum and invites the listener to an exciting listening pleasure.

The cover is dominated by the filmic aesthetics of light and shadow. The title evokes a world of shady transactions and secret crimes. Most of the tracks emit a suitably dark and moody atmosphere, with at least three directly referencing the film noir genre. From the well-known classic The Spiral Staircase, to more obscure Somewhere in the Night, and The Seventh Victim. Is Noir a concept album? Originally it was planned that way, but in the end Steve found the concept too rigid.

I play all over the world on a constant basis, and always come back with different impressions. Accordingly, this changes the music that I produce. I’ve had the idea to make a concept album for some time, but on the other hand, that’s not the way I work. My music expresses my moods, and of course, they are always changing. – Steve Bug

Noir was produced over a period of three years, meaning Bug began production not long after the release of his last album, Collaboratory. Noir mostly features new tracks, plus the recently released Tell Me Why and Those Grooves. Also Bug features guest vocals from North American Emilie Chick in Moment of Ease, and Johnny Dangerous of Foremost Poets at No Adjustments. We listen Noir‘s first track.

Steve Bug – Tell Me why

From the driving opener Tell Me Why to the emotional closing track The Seventh Victim, Steve Bug has crafted a rounded, atmospheric album that throws a long and impressive shadow over most contemporary dance albums.

CD Tracklist

  1. Tell Me Why
  2. Poison Of Choice
  3. Serve Your Mistress
  4. No Adjustments feat. Foremost Poets
  5. The Spiral Staircase
  6. 06. Moment Of Ease feat. Emilie Chick
  7. 07. Those Grooves
  8. 08. Somewhere In The Night
  9. 09. Farewell Friend
  10. 10. The Seventh Victim

2×12” Tracklist

  • A1. Those Grooves
  • A2. Moment Of Ease feat. Emilie Chick
  • B1. No Adjustments feat. Foremost Poets
  • B2. The Spiral Staircase
  • B3. Farewell Friend
  • C1. Serve Your Mistress (Extended Version)
  • C2. Tell Me Why (Extended Version)
  • D1. Somewhere In The Night
  • D2. Poison Of Choice
  • D3. The Seventh Victim

Noir will be released on October 1 through Poker Flat Recordings.